The Official Languages Act recognizes the Inuit language, English and French as official languages throughout the territory of Nunavut. You have the right to communicate with and receive services from the Government and public agencies in the official language of your choice.


If you feel your rights may have been violated, please contact the Office of the Languages Commissioner to file your concern.  We will take all necessary measures to ensure recognition of your rights regarding the official languages.


To celebrate the Uqausirmut Quviasuutiqarniq and Les Rendez-vous de la Francophonie, the Office of the Languages Commissioner encourages you to speak your language and to be proud of your mother tongue.


Phone: 867-975-5080. Toll-free: 1-877-836-2280



OLC_RVF2019.jpg1.12 MB